Jane Eyre vs. Jane Slayre

9 Jun

Jane Eyre - Charlotte Bronte

Jane Slayre - Sherri Browning-Erwin & Charlotte Bronte

I picked up a paperback of “Jane Slayre”, the re-imagined Novel by Sherri Browning Erwin of Charlotte Bronte’s classic novel “Jane Eyre”.  I had always wanted to read the classic novel but just never got around to it.  I don’t know about you but I always chuckle a little in the local bookstore when I see the covers of these re-imagined classic novels.  What’s not to love about a stake welding vampire killer?

So I dove into Jane Slayre without having read the original novel and I quite enjoyed it.  In fact when I saw the recently released Jane Eyre movie this Spring I was shocked that each scene was exactly as I had read in the Jane Slayre novel minus the vampires and zombies.   All the same characters Mrs. Reed, Mr. Rochester and even the mysterious Thornfield Hall are all present.

You’ll follow this heroic orphan as she learns to slay zombies, vampires and finally deal with werewolves.  If you enjoy the supernatural and loved the original novel you will love this book!

Leave a Reply

