Chicken and Dumplings for the Winter Worn Soul

28 Feb

Greeted by a blanket of fresh snow this morning makes me think it’s time for my favorite comfort food, Chicken and Dumplings.  I love this dish but the way I make it today is completely different from how my Mom made it growing up.  Mom would boil the chicken and make the chicken stock but the dumplings  are a whole other matter.  It was mine and my sister, Kelley’s job to tear each canned biscuit into four pieces and Mom would drop them in the hot buttery stock.  We would watch in amazement as the bits of biscuit dough would slowly puff up and fill the pot. 

Pictured L-R: Kathy, Mae(Mom), Kelley, and Grandma Foree

It wasn’t until I watched my Mother-in-Law make my favorite dish that I discovered drop dumplings.  She just took some Bisquick mixed in some milk and started dropping in scoops of raw dough in the hot broth.   I was flabbergasted!  Dumplings can be that easy!  Chicken and Dumplings would never be the same for me again. 

Here’s the recipe my Mother-in-Law, Mary Coleman, uses for Chicken and Dumplings.  I usually add a potato or two and sometimes throw in some carrots if I have them.  Chicken and Dumplings.. perfection on a cold winters day! 

Mom’s Chicken & Dumplings

What you’ll need:

Chicken and Broth

1 broiler-fryer chicken, cut up

4½ cups cold water

1½ teaspoons salt

1/2 teaspoon pepper

1 stalk celery & leaves, cut up

1 medium carrot, cut up

1 small onion, cut up

1 sprig parsley

 

Dumplings

Mom uses Bisquick – Dumplings recipe below.

2¼ cups Bisquick

²⁄3 cup milk

 

How Mom makes it:

 

(Directions for Chicken and broth)

Place chicken in Dutch oven and add water, salt, pepper, celery, carrot, onion, and sprig of parsley.  Heat to boiling. Skim foam; reduce heat. Cover and simmer until thickest pieces of chicken are done, about 45 minutes.

Remove chicken from broth; cool chicken just until cool enough to handle, about 10 minutes.

 

Strain broth through cheescloth-lined sieve. Remove chicken from bones and skin; cut up chicken. Discard bones, skin and vegetables. Skim fat from broth.

 

(Directions for dumplings)

Stir milk into Bisquick mix until a soft dough forms.  Drop dough by spoonfuls into pot of hot chicken broth and chicken Cook uncovered 10 minutes. Cover and cook 10 minutes longer. 10 dumplings

 

Parsley dumplings; Add 3 Tbsps. snipped parsley or chives with the flour.

 

Makes approximately 6-8 servings

Leave a Reply

