New Mom, New Recipe

19 Feb
Mary Coleman

Mary Coleman, My Earthly Guardian Angel

I was just 18 when I would meet Mary Coleman, my incredible Mother-in-Law.  You’ll not find a more patient, loving, resourceful, giving, and intelligent human being.  Just writing this I can just visualize her face flushed with embarrassment, her crinkled eyes, and her softly chuckling saying, “Oh I don’t know about that!”  But she is truly one of my earthly guardian angels.  Over the years she has taught me many things but her greatest gift to me was the gift of her family.  I am who I am today because of her and I am eternally grateful.  I know, I’m gushing, but she’s worth it!  So let’s get to the recipe I’m going to share today Barbecued Pot Roast. 

Mary Coleman & Alec

Pictured - Mary Coleman & Son Alec Coleman

When I gave birth to my first child Alec I was only 21 and could barely cook macaroni and cheese let alone a real sit down meal!  I was scared and nervous about becoming a mother, actually I had barely figured out how to be an adult.   At the time we lived in Columbia, MO and Mom insisted that she would drive up from Belton after I had the baby to help out by cooking and would take turns taking care of the little guy.  Being the Mother of seven grown children, she’s definitely an expert!  She taught me many recipes that week but this one was my favorite.

Barbecued Pot Roast

 What you’ll need:

 2 T cooking oil

1 3 to 4 lb. beef pot roast

1 18 oz. bottle onion flavored barbecue sauce

1 T salt

¼ tsp pepper

2 16 oz. cans whole white potatoes

2 16 oz. cans cut green beans (optional)

How Mom makes it:

Heat oven to 350º

Heat cooking oil on medium in a Dutch oven or oven safe skillet and then add pot roast to brown on both sides.  Add barbecue sauce, salt, and pepper.

Cover and bake for 2 hours.  Spoon fat from liquid over meat and add green beans and potatoes.  Recover and bake for ½ hour longer until meat and vegetables are heated thoroughly.

Leave a Reply

