Inspiration Doesn’t Have a Watch!

6 Apr

You never know what will inspire you or at what time it will happen.  A TV show, a conversation, an article in a magazine, or a random email.  I was inspired last night to write a poem.

I imagined what it might be like to have lived a long life and for a moment remember the dreams of youth.  Let me know what you think. :D

Reflections

Nightly Escape

Crinkled weathered eyes, foggy with age, gaze out the window.

Who is this person staring in the reflection?

I don’t recognize the face, the troubled brow twisted with regret and worry.

Just as I turn away..

wait..

a glimmer of the girl I used to be.

I imagine I’m still that quirky girl of 20,

I pause,

Close my eyes and there before me all the possibilities that were.

Then, just as quickly, I open my eyes and the reflection is but a shadow of that 20-year-old, possibilities running down life’s driveway, streaming into the drainage system.

I will sleep now and forget for a time of my circumstances.

I shall escape, un-tether and float freely in a place of my choosing.

Good-night old girl, see you on the flip side.

3 Responses to “Inspiration Doesn’t Have a Watch!”

  1. Pat April 7, 2011 at 10:54 am #

    I like it.

  2. Semper Wifey April 8, 2011 at 4:46 pm #

    Stopping by from SITS to say hello! Thank you for sharing your poem!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

