Mom, The Original Superhero!

5 Apr

Mae Foree (Mom) and Kathy Coleman

Where would any of us be without our mothers?  Well.. we wouldn’t exist frankly and some of us wouldn’t need to pay a therapist an hourly rate!  Mother’s come in all shapes, sizes, and mindsets and have managed to shape the face of society.  We all swear growing up that we will never be like our Mother and yet we do, some more than others.  As a Mother myself I always question my past decisions and worry if I gave too much help or not enough.  I worry constantly if I’m being too harsh or too forgiving.  Too attentive or not attentive enough.

Thank God for my husband, he keeps me grounded and more than once has talked me “off the ledge” so to speak.  Once your kids leave home as mine have,  it becomes even harder to know what to say or do.  At one point I was going on about one of our kids about this or that and he looked at me and said, “Kathy, you can’t make them be who you want them to be… You have to learn to except the person that they are.”

A Mother can be your rock, your protector, your teacher, a shoulder to cry on, flawed, sensitive, nurturer, and yes.. a Superhero.  Being a Mother is the most important job you’ll never get paid for (with money anyway) and in the end all a Mom can do is just love their kids.

Mom the Original Superhero

2 Responses to “Mom, The Original Superhero!”

  1. Pat April 5, 2011 at 11:10 am #

    Qualities attributed to a mother: the capacity to love; to watch over, nourish and protect. Not all women, although they give birth to children have the qualities needed to actually be called a mother in that sense of the word.

    • Kathleen Coleman April 5, 2011 at 4:50 pm #

      Yes, just because you can give birth to a child doesn’t mean you’re the mother. In my life I’ve had many mothers all of whom have helped to shape and mold the person I am today!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

